Old Royal Naval College & Ranger's House
16 September 2010
The Chapel in the Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich © Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich/Richard Riddick
The site of the Old Royal Naval College has a rich and complex history, starting life as a favourite residence of Henry VIII. In 1692 it became a hospital for seamen and then a training centre for Royal Naval Officers until 1997. Our tour includes the Painted Hall, one of the finest banqueting halls in Europe where Nelson lay in state, and the Jacobean Undercroft, which is the last remaining visible section of Henry VIII’s palace. After lunch we privately tour Ranger’s House and explore some of the 700 works brought together by the diamond magnate Julius Wernher. The collection includes silver, jewels and porcelain as well as early religious paintings and Dutch Old Masters.
SOLD OUT 11am–5pm; (incl. lunch/wine, tea); meet at Old Royal Naval College, West Gate, Greenwich, SE10